AM: Arctic Monkeys new album to be released in September

Nice Little ending with "AM"
New Album cover? We’ll See.

The Arctic Monkeys have revealed that their new album will be released Sept 9, 2013. The will be simply called “AM.” That won’t be too difficult to get used to since most of the Arctic Monkeys community has been referring to the album as AM 5 for the past few months. The song’s on the album will be:

1. Do I Wanna Know?
2. R U Mine?
3. One For The Road
4. Arabella
5. I Want It All
6. No. 1 Party Anthem
7. Mad Sounds
8. Fireside
9. Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?
10. Snap Out Of It
11. Knee Socks
12. I Wanna Be Yours

So we have three familiar tracks-“Do I Wanna Know?” “R U Mine” and “Mad Sounds”-and judging by the names of the songs, we are going to get a very rock and roll, “R U Mine”/”Do I Wanna Know?” sound. This means sexy, grungy, love songs-no doubt Alex is quite smitten with Arielle.

The band’s new album will feature other artists such as Josh Homme, front man for Queens of the Stone Age, and Pete Thomas, drummer of Elvis Costello.  As to the name, “AM,” front man Alex Turner said in a NME interview that he “stole” it from Velvet Underground, who titled one of their albums “VU.”

Personally I am looking forward to the album. I hope the Arctic Monkeys have some tricks up their sleeves and are going to surprise us with some mad sounds-get it? The track titles sound rather interesting: I mean, “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?” sounds like my cup of tea. Hopefully AM will be spectacular. The only concern I have for this album, and it seems to be the concern of many, is that their sound might be too similar to “R U Mine?” and other previous songs. This isn’t necessarily bad, but it would feel a little too predictable. Overall though, I am optimistic and excited for September.

Leave a comment